Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
The Physical Therapy Board 
of Craniofacial & Cervical Therapeutics

Welcome to the PTBCCT

The PTBCCT is a 501-C non-profit independent international board composed of physical therapists with advanced education and clinical experience specific to the evaluation and treatment of patients with cervical spine disorders (CSD), cervicogenic headaches (CGH), orofacial pain (OFP) and temporomandibular disorders (TMD) that are commonly intertwined.  The majority of our board members have faculty appointments in dental and physical therapy schools as well as journal and textbook publications in this specialized field.  We created the board to provide an educational venue for the physical therapy profession and offer a means by which the public can obtain information regarding the location of a Certified Cervical & Temporomandibular Therapist (CCTT) in their geographical region.  A complete list of Certified Cervical & Temporomandibular Therapists can be found under the PTBCCT Directory.

 The Puzzle of Temporomandibular
Joint Disorders
Pain at the temporomandibular region can develop from within or around the joint, but can also be referred from the head, the neck and/or shoulder girdle.  Physical therapists that have obtained specialty certification through the Physical Therapy Board of Craniofacial and Cervical Therapeutics (PTBCCT) understand the relationship of the neck and shoulder to the head and TMJ.  Therefore a comprehensive initial evaluation must encompass an assessment of each of the adjacent inter-related regions.

Specialty Certification

Mannheimer JS. The Physical Therapy Board of Craniofacial and Cervical Therapeutics.
Guest Editorial. J of Craniomandibular Practice. 28(3): 145-147, 2010


Physical Therapists at the AAOP Pasadena meeting
Front Row (L-R): Mike Ritchie - Canada, Carol Cote - New Jersey, Maria Zerjav - Canada, Eveline Erni - New York, Jeff Mannheimer - New Jersey, Cheryl Applewhaite - Canada, Todd Henkelmann - Pennsylvania.
Back Row (L-R): Mike Karegeannes - Wisconsin, Jan Dommerholt - Maryland, John Dunn - New Jersey, Tim Gibbs - Montana, Steve Kraus - Georgia.